Chefs Gallery, Sydney

I’ve often had to line up at Chefs Gallery, but it’s still one of my go-to restaurants in the city. Perfect for a quick after-work bite or a pre-movie snack, the roti and dumplings are the most notable dishes here.

One of my favourite dishes is the fluffy Chinese roti with pork floss ($8.90). I can’t get enough of pork floss in general, but the roti itself is also beautiful. It’s not up there with Mamak’s roti canai, but I order it every time I frequent Chefs Gallery.  We also order the roti with egg, shallots and red onion ($7.90), which isn’t quite as moreish as the pork floss alternative.

The other dish that I always order here is the pan fried pork and cabbage pot stickers ($9.90). As opposed to the typical dumpling shape, these pot stickers are in the shape of long rolls, crispy outside and juicy inside.

For the Zha Jiang Noodles with minced pork ($13.90) we choose bian mian – fettucine style handmade noodles. Though it’s tasty, we can’t help but compare them to our all-time favourite knife-sliced noodles at Chinese Noodle House, which is a much cheaper hole-in-the-wall eatery in Chinatown. Another noodle dish we try is the regular handmade noodles wok fried with shredded barbecue pork in soy sauce ($13.90). I probably prefer the latter.

Craving a bit of greenery, we also opt for the water spinach with chilli prawn paste ($15.90). The dish is ridiculously flavoursome, which I’m very pleased about.

The phoenix dumplings – spicy king prawns encased in a pastry with chilli spices & steamed ($12.90) – are a little bit special. The spiciness is just perfect, and I adore the vibrant orange colour. This is also one of Nadia’s favourite dishes of the night.

I keep coming back to Chefs Gallery and I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed. Let’s disregard the time I tried those very cute piggy dumplings, which are adorable but don’t taste very good.

-Sarah

Zha Jiang Noodles

Phoenix dumplings

Pork pot stickers

Water spinach

Roti with pork floss

Roti with egg and spring onion

Chefs Gallery
12/501 George St, Sydney

Chefs Gallery on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Chefs Gallery, Sydney

Leave a Reply

