Spicy Meat & Potato Pie

Ah, winter.

I’m the type of weird person who gets cold really easily. Combine this with having a boyfriend who NEVER gets cold, and hence refuses to ever turn the heater on, you get me rugged up in wool socks AND Uggs, a long sleeve T-shirt AND a hoodie, fleece sweatpants, a hot water bottle, and wrapped up in a blanket.

Don’t get me wrong;  this is only Sydney winter, so if some of you are from the UK, Canada, even some parts of the USA, you’re probably laughing at me. The coldest places I’ve been to is probably Park City, Utah in January. And I’ve also been to Boston in winter, and I was also outdoors in the NYC blizzard of December 2010. So I do know what real cold feels like. And I LOVE those three places I’ve just listed. But seriously, I don’t know what I’d be wearing if I lived in these places. I’d probably look like the Michelin man.

Here’s one of my winter warmers.

Ingredients:

7 x medium potatoes
1 tbsp butter
¼ cup milk
500g mince such as beef, pork or veal (we used a half pork, half veal mince this time)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tsp dried chilli flakes
1 carrot, chopped into 1cm cubes
1 zucchini, chopped into 1cm cubes
½ red capsicum, chopped into 1cm cubes
1 chorizo, chopped into 1cm cubes
1 x 400g can of diced tomato
1 tbsp tomato paste
grated parmesan
1 tsp dried parsley

Method:

1. Peel and quarter the potatoes, then cover them with water and boil until soft.
2. Drain, season with salt & pepper, mash until smooth. Add butter and stir thoroughly. Add the milk a little at a time, stir, and repeat until you reach your preferred consistency. We like ours really soft and smooth so we used all of the ¼ cup, but if you like your mashed potato firmer, then don’t add all the milk.
3. Preheat your oven to 200ºC.
4. Heat a tbsp of olive oil over low-medium heat and sweat the onions and chilli flakes for about 1 min. Turn up the heat to high and brown the mince, breaking it up as it cooks. Add the chorizo and cook until browned.
5. Add the carrot, zucchini, capsicum, tomato and tomato paste. Stir until combined and bring to the boil.
6. Put the mince mixture into a large baking dish (or multiple smaller ones). Top with mashed potato, grated parmesan and dried parsley.
7. Bake until the cheese is golden (should be about 10mins).
8. Let rest for 5 mins before eating.

– Nads

Diced veggies

Chorizo deliciousness

Meat mixture into a mini baking dish

Sprinkling parmesan and parsley on top

EAT!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Meat & Potato Pie

Leave a Reply

